Dead Until Dark With My True Blood: Charlaine Harris’ Dead Until Dark Book Review

Dead Until Dark

Like many people, I know of the hit TV show, True Blood. I know all about Sookie Stackhouse and her seemingly doe-eyed facade. I know all about Bill Compton and the roller coaster of whether to like him or not. I know all about my favorite duo, Pam and Eric. I started watching True Blood while a senior in college. (Exactly what every college student does, right?) Of course I was immediately hooked. The insane introduction, which I could definitely write a 100-page essay on (but I’ll save you from that, this time), instantly had me hooked. There’s a little message in the introduction that I often overlooked. The little message that states that the series is based on the Sookie Stackhouse novels. Now, studying non-stop, and writing a ridiculous amount of papers had my mind set on purely watching the TV show and just clearing my head from everything else going on. You could say it was my non-moving yoga (if you so chose to). Well this past summer, I decided I was going to read a book. (Huge revelation coming from an English major and part-time librarian. (I’m not really a librarian, but I work part-time pretending to be one.) So, lo and behold, I bought Charlaine Harris’ Dead Until Dark. This is the first Sookie Stackhouse novel. And thus, this is where my critique begins.

So this is the part where you can pick which section to read. I divided it depending on if you’ve seen the first season of True Blood, or if you haven’t.

Seen It

Let me just point out for a second how creative I am in coming up with the section names, she thought as sarcasm oozed on the keyboard, which caused an even bigger mess that what she’d anticipated. Focus Megan (that’s me). If you’ve seen it and you’re not a big fan of reading, this will definitely be a good introduction to reading. It’s a super easy read and follows very closely to what you’ve already seen. You may be thinking to yourself: But, Megan, I’ve already seen the show and know how it ends. Why would I want to read this book that’s the exact same story. And I’m here to tell you, that that is actually a really good point. You don’t need to read this book if you’ve already seen the show, unless you’re one of those people, like me. I felt that the characters in the show fit perfectly with how Harris portrayed them. There were several times in the show where I was getting annoyed with Sookie’s innocence, but Harris really drives that point home several times. And it’s true, every time Bill Compton said “Sookie” I pretended to have his accent and aloof sense of formal speech. The book honestly made me appreciate the show even more. I definitely recommend you read it, but it’s not the epitome. It will not change the world. It’ll just get you to another one for a little while, which works for me.

Haven’t Seen It

Ok. The basic idea of the book is that there is this girl, Sookie Stackhouse, who lives in Bon Temp and makes a living as a waitress. Vampires have decided to oust themselves and have mortals see them as they are. Some try to mainstream and have normal lives among the rest of the population, while others go about their vampire-y ways. They are a series of murders. Everyone is a suspect, even Sookie’s bed-hopping brother, Jason. The book does a really good job at not leading us directly to who committed the crimes. We’re constantly trying to figure it out along with Sookie and the rest of the town. While investigating Sookie finds that there are way more than just humans and vampires wandering Bon Temp. Dun dun dunnnn. I’ll stop there because I don’t want to gibe away too much.

In several chats about this book people ask if the book made the series better? I can’t answer that question. I saw the show before reading the book and already had my preconceived notions about the show. Perhaps you’ll have to be the judge yourself.

For being classified as adult fiction, it reads much like youth fiction. Something along the lines of the Hunger Games series. You could think you’re going to sit down and just read a few pages, and the next thing you know you’re halfway through the book. It’s a quick read and definitely one that will hook you. All that being said, it all comes down to whether or not I would recommend it. I would. Whether you’ve seen the show or not, this book encompasses the dangers that are associated with vampires that often goes ignored. So grab this book and snuggle up. It’s definitely reading weather.

Leave a Reply

