The Better To Hear You With, My Dear: My Take On Audiobooks

I am a huge traditionalist when it comes to books. I don’t like when books take on the cover of the movies. I prefer “real” books over downloading books any day. I always figured that audiobooks and Playaways were cheating. That’s not “reading”; it’s just listening to a book. How can that possibly be considered in the same caliber as picking up a book, turning pages, and reading an actual book. I like turning actual pages in an actual book. So why, oh why, did I get the urge to try an audiobook? My coworkers constantly read. They read an insane amount and they highly recommend books all the time.

So, adding my coworkers to my growing Goodreads list, I needed to do something. For every book I read, I add two more. Plus, I’m in the car for at least an hour every day on my commute to and from work.

At first I had a really hard time concentrating. I just wasn’t used to listening to someone talk to me all the time in the car. I’m more of a music person. I even change the channels, or tune myself out, when commercials come on the radio. I’m constantly hooked up to music in the car – CD, MP3, Radio. So, having someone talk to me and I needed to actually pay attention – that was challenging.

As I got deeper and deeper into the audiobook, I grew to like it. It wasn’t actually as hard as I was making it out to be. It felt like I was a kid again, gathering around for Storytime. The voice actor does different voices, just like when Mamma read to me before bed. Every time I get in the car, it’s like I’m the wide-eyed kid I once was, completely ready for someone to read to me. A huge bonus I found as well, I get to read more than one book at a time. I get my audiobook for the car, and my regular tried and true book for night-time reads.

So, what have I gathered from this whole experience? YOU NEED TO START DOING AUDIOBOOKS. In all seriousness, it’s really cool. Some have music, different actors, use of different voices, and other sound effects you just can’t get from books. I realized I need to just keep up with the times. New mediums, new me! Although it’s not technically “reading”, I’m definitely getting the same knowledge and experience. Long story, short: do it. Do the audiobooks.

2 thoughts on “The Better To Hear You With, My Dear: My Take On Audiobooks

  1. […] When you do anything as an audiobook, it can be a gamble. What if the voice actor just doesn’t fit the character? What if the reading is dull and dry? What if the pauses in between chapters are so long you think it’s the end of the disk, and then feel silly when you go to eject it just to find out there’s more. (This may or may not have happened to me several times with other audiobooks.) Rest assured. Audio is the way to go. First of all, the voice actor, Robert Glenister, has the perfect voice. It’s English. Helps me remember that this story is taking place in England. His voice is raspy and definitely helped me visualize Cormoran Strike, our main character. So, do as an audiobook, if that’s your cat’s meow. If not, consider trying them out. (I did a write up about audiobooks right here!) […]

    Like

  2. […] does audiobooks! Umm hi, my name is Megan and I love audiobooks. There’s a whole thing about whether or not audiobooks counts as reading and it was great to […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

