Great Reads And Horrible Reads On Goodreads

Those who have come in contact with me, albeit in person or though the internet, know of my recent book-loving, nerdy obsession. I am obsessed with a new website. Now, when I say “new”, I mean that it’s new to me. What, you may be wondering, website could have little ol’ Megan in such a tizzy? It’s Goodreads.com, of course. Let me tell you, it’s not just some silly networking site that you only visit a few times and then get quickly bored with it. So, why do I love it so much? I’ll let you in just a few awesome features.

1. It’s about books!

First and foremost, this site is all about books. The whole book-loving community can come and love (or hate) books on this site. Oh, you’re reading this super old book that no one’s heard of? Well, hunny, Goodreads has, and it knows that there’s an audio version, kindle version, paperback, and hardcover.

2. Keeping track of your books!

If you’re anything like me, people recommend books to you when you’re just not in the mental capacity to remember the title or the author. It happens all the time: driving, walking, eating, taking a shower (not really). Point is, you don’t have anything to write down what you’re supposed to remember and you could be missing out on a book that could change your life. Goodreads puts a stop to this. If you have access to the internet, you have access to remember the book. Just search for the book and click “Want To Read”. It’s as simple as that. No mess, no fuss. Now, you may be thinking that you’ve already read a ton of books and want to show them off for all to see just how many you’ve read. There’s a button for “Read”. Boom. If you’re currently reading a book, just click the option of “Elephants with Bananas”. (Not really; just click “Currently Reading”.) Once you do these they’ll go to different virtual bookshelves!

3. You have virtual book shelves!

Need I say more? (Probably not, but that’s not going to stop me.) You can add shelves, delete shelves, and organize the books the way you want to. For instance: I have Harry Potter And The Sorcerer’s Stone on my favorites shelf, my junior readers shelf, and my fiction shelf. Yes! You can have books on multiple shelves! They’re your books, organize them how you want to!

4. You can rate them and write comments!

After reading eight books, you might forget how you feel about the first book you read. Not a problem. You can rate each book with stars. How much did you like the book? Was it just a one-star book or was it insane and deserves five? I’ll let you in on a secret. I’ll tell you how I base my rating system. 1 Star = Couldn’t finish it. DO NOT READ. 2 Stars = Finished it, but it sucked. 3 Stars = Finished it and it was a’ight. 4 Stars = Finished it and it was pretty damn good. 5 Stars = Finished this book, wish I could read it as if it was my first time again, and everyone needs to experience this masterpiece. Don’t remember why you wrote only two stars for something, or why this book was so awesome? Dude, just write-up some comments. Talk about the book. Revel in all that it had to offer.

5. You can see other people’s comments and ratings!

Say you heard this one book is super awesome. So, you are being diligent and looking it up on Goodreads. You read the mini description, but you’re still not sure if you want to read it or not. Scroll on down, mamma. You can see the comments and ratings of people who have already read it! Boom. It was a dud and everyone hated it = Don’t read. You just saved yourself a bunch of time and energy.

6. You have friends!

You have friends! Awww. And what’s so great about friends? You can see all of their shelves. You can see what they want to read, are currently reading, how they rated something and so much more. It all comes up on a super handy feed.

7. Recommendations!

You get recommendations based on how you rated books. Goodreads is all, oh, Megan loved The Zombie Survival Guide, perhaps she’ll like The Walking Dead. You can even recommend books to your friends right through this awesome site! Barb is totally going to freak if she reads 1984, now you can tell her to read it and she’ll get a notification.

Honestly, there are a TON of other reasons why I love this site. And if you really want to get into more details with me, I would definitely be happy to nerd out with you. BUT! I feel like my chatter is becoming a rant, and I don’t want to hype it up too much with the fear you might not even want to go check it out. So, final words: Goodreads.com is a ridiculous site for the book world and you should definitely investigate.

5 thoughts on “Great Reads And Horrible Reads On Goodreads

  1. Jeyna Grace says:

    Goodreads is as good for authors as it is for readers 🙂

    Like

  2. […] no idea what goodreads is or don’t think it’s your thing, check out my other blog post: Great Reads And Horrible Reads On Goodreads. Without further ado, here’s the […]

    Like

  3. goodreads is great for reviews, for finding out about what books my friends like and don’t like. It’s a wonderful place to establish yourself as an author, and my favorite part is Keeping Lists of all the books I can remember ever reading. Like having all the books I’ve read (or not finished) back again and on virtual bookshelves.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Alice! You’re absolutely right. I get recommended books, or I hear of books that I want to read all the time. This is the easiest way for me to remember. AND! By rating and reviewing I can remember if I liked or disliked a book and why. I just love it. It’s definitely my obsession 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

