Swinging Life Away With The Amazing Spider-Man 2 Movie Review

Image

Last weekend I had the priviledge of going out, which is something I don’t do that often. The outing of choice was to see The Amazing Spider-Man 2. Let me just say that I was excited. He’s definitely in my Top 3 of Superheroes. (Also Iron Man and Wolverine.) The previews looked super awesome, but I was a little worried as I always am when it comes to Superhero movies. What if they only showed the best parts in the previews? What if Gwen Stacy turns into a character more like Mary Jane Watson (ugh)? What if Jamie Foxx is horrible? All very legit questions and fears.

We get there early and the theater is still packed. All those people who thought it wouldn’t be busy, since it opened the weekend before, came and made it busy. (Shakes fist.) We found a place where we could all fit (all three of us) in the first row of the second section. So we’re not craning our necks to see what’s going on and we can put our feet up on the railing. (Not that I would ever break such an important rule as keeping my feet off the railing.) As soon as the movie started, (the actual movie, not the previews) the kid behind me kicks my chair. He was surprisingly strong for such a little kid. Good god. My knight in shining armor (my beau, my boo, my sugar daddy, my lover, my boyfriend) turned and asked the kid nicely to stop. The kid did. Awesome! We’re off to a great start. False hope, only later did we all find out that that kid is the most talkative kid in the whole world. Slight exaggeration? Nope. He talked through the whole thing. He’d miss important whispery parts and then ask his dad why something was happening. UGH!

The actual movie: was awesome as hell. The fight scenes were great! They really used the slow motion to their advantage. About my fears: There were parts I recognized from the trailers and previews, but there were so many other great scenes that I was not disappointed. Gwen Stacy did not turn into a whining Damsel in Distress. Heck no. She was awesome and a kick-ass female lead. Jamie Foxx rocked it hard. He was great in both roles he played. He did a great job in making his character complex and not one-dimensional. Harry Osborn was insane. He was a great character and had a mad-scientist sort of smile that gave me chills. There were a couple scenes that could have been taken out, but the movie didn’t seem to drag at all. I was sucked in and was swinging right along with Peter Parker. His humor is ever-present and appreciated. I love when characters have a sense of humor. The flashback scenes were great! Looks like the actually used scenes from their filming of the first movie. No other actors being told they are young Peter Parker or young Aunt May.

Should you go see it: Duh. Yes. Go right now. Well, make sure you watch the first one. There are cross-over moments that you might need the first one to guide you as to what’s going on. Overall a great movie and a great start to this summer movie season.

That’s it for today. Like. Comment. Subscribe.
Until next time my loves!

2 thoughts on “Swinging Life Away With The Amazing Spider-Man 2 Movie Review

  1. […] was bought. Tickets were ripped. Seats were grabbed. The theater was a lot less crowded than The Amazing Spider-man 2. That should have been my first hint. We sat down and no little kids were kicking my seat. No one […]

    Like

  2. […] was bought. Tickets were ripped. Seats were grabbed. The theater was a lot less crowded than The Amazing Spider-man 2. That should have been my first hint. We sat down and no little kids were kicking my seat. No one […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

