My Year In Books: The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith – Book #2

Photo Cred: goodreads
Title: The Cuckoo’s Calling
Author: Robert Galbraith
Series: Cormoran Strike Series – First in the series
Publisher: Hachette Audio
Release Date: May 16, 2013
Medium: Audiobook
Voice Actor: Robert Glenister
Awards: Goodreads Choice for Mystery & Thriller Nominee (2013)
Date Finished Reading: January 13, 2014

Apparently I was in a J.K. Rowling mood back in January. For those who do not know, Robert Galbraith is a pseudonym for Rowling. Again, this is another book you cannot expect to be anything like Harry Potter. She’s writing under a different name and everything! I did know this going into the book, but it’s so far removed from her other, more well-known works, that I thought of Galbraith as a different author (as should you).

When you do anything as an audiobook, it can be a gamble. What if the voice actor just doesn’t fit the character? What if the reading is dull and dry? What if the pauses in between chapters are so long you think it’s the end of the disk, and then feel silly when you go to eject it just to find out there’s more. (This may or may not have happened to me several times with other audiobooks.) Rest assured. Audio is the way to go. First of all, the voice actor, Robert Glenister, has the perfect voice. It’s English. Helps me remember that this story is taking place in England. His voice is raspy and definitely helped me visualize Cormoran Strike, our main character. So, do as an audiobook, if that’s your cat’s meow. If not, consider trying them out. (I did a write up about audiobooks right here!)

So, basic plot. We are following around a down-and-out detective, Cormoran Strike, who lives in his office, was wounded in Afghanistan, and has just been dumped by an on-and-off partner. Pretty noir, right? To top it off, he even owes money to a guy you do not want to owe money to. Definitely up my alley. While things are looking gloomy, Strike has a temp assigned to help him with office work. Robin. Robin is awesome. She’s basically the glue that keeps Strike together. She amazes him with her love for mysteries and her ability for searching out information. She’s pretty kick-ass, and I’d be friends with her.

Lo and behold! One day, in walks John Bristow with a highly sensitive case. A supermodel has been found dead not too long ago. Lula Landry. The sister of Bristow. Bristow is distraught, as he should be and is on his last leg of hope coming to Strike. Strike agrees to take on the case and from there we are taken on a wild ride. We dive into Landry’s not-so-perfect life and uncover all of her secrets. Everything from a druggie boyfriend to the need to connect with her biological family.

What did I think? I enjoyed it. I love the lowly detective and the whole noir genre. This book is noir without being overly or predictably noir. (If that makes sense?) There are so many turns and twists. I had no idea who was responsible for the death of Lula until the very end, when it’s revealed for all. There is debate about the book’s ending, I won’t get into it here (I hate spoilers), but it makes sense to me. I think this is a great intro book for mystery and I thought it was adequately (lookit me and my big words) portrayed.

What did I rate this book and what does it mean? I gave it three stars! I read it and liked it. I’m super curious to see where this series is going to go. (The second in the series, The Silkworm is expected to come out later in 2014.) I definitely enjoyed the characters. It only got three because I would recommend it, but it’s not at the top of my list for mystery fans.

So, what did you think? Have you read this book yet? Is it on your list of books to read? Think my review is totally barbaric and absurd? Just want to say hi? Like, comment, and follow.

Until next time my fellow bibliophiles!

2 thoughts on “My Year In Books: The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith – Book #2

  1. […] going to be published. Immediately I requested the book at the library. I enjoyed the first one (The Cuckoo’s Calling) and wanted to keep up with the duo of Strike and […]

    Like

  2. […] The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

