Maleficent Was… Magnificent

Photo Cred: joblo.com
Maleficent. Now, I’m not going to start this post by saying that Maleficent was my favorite Disney villain ever since I was a little girl. She wasn’t. She scared the crap out of me. Cursing a baby to fall into a deep, coma-like sleep after pricking her finger. Turning into a crazed dragon and fighting off Prince Phillip. I was terrified. She was not my favorite. Alas, Disney is at it again.

From the moment the commercials hit the TV, I just knew I had to see it. Still on the high of Snow White and the Huntsman, I was ready for another dark Disney tale. I’m fast-forwarding through the night. We ate felafel, bought our tickets, sat down. On to the feature presentation!

There is so much awesome from this movie, that I’m having a hard time figuring out where to start. We’ll make a list of the awesome-sauce that occurred.

  • Angelina Jolie
    • Her “evil” laugh had me hooked immediately and I was ready for anything. It was one of those evil laughs that gives you chills. Scares you to pieces, but you totally have a lust for.
    • Her look was on point! The lips, which I cannot get over. The cheek prosthetic. The horns. Just … I literally can’t even right now.
    • She adds so much depth to Maleficent and I loved it!
  • The story is different
    • Of course, being called Maleficent it’s going to be from a different perspective, and I’m definitely pleased with the way Disney worked in the original story, the original darkness (while some was still missing), and a new take which has not been done before (you’ll have to see it to know what I’m talking about – no spoilers here)
  • The Crow
    • He’s a character!

      You might have heard a hub-bub about Maleficent’s wings being taken as a sort of “rape” or “bondage to men” or “loss of self”. I’m not going to give my opinion. Mostly because I didn’t go to this movie to judge it on a higher literary (movie-ary) depth. I saw it as …. Maleficent’s wings were taken. Shit. She’s wingless now. Ok, that’s enough seriousness. (Weird. Time for an awkward transition.)

      Absolutely go see it. Definitely not just a “chick” movie. Definitely not a story for the children. It’s for you. Yes, you, dear reader. If you haven’t seen it, I highly recommend it. As I said before, I literally can’t even right now. Literally. (Serious, but also mocking this silly phrase.) Hmm… looking back now, my list of awesomeness does not seem super long. Well, I don’t want to give anything away. There’s a ton of other awesome that happens, buuuuuut I’m keeping it secret. You’ll have to go see it to find out!

      Have you seen it? Are you going to? Who’s your favorite Disney villain? Let me know in the comments below! Like, comment, and follow.
      Until next time!

2 thoughts on “Maleficent Was… Magnificent

  1. Madeline says:

    I loved Maleficent so much, too. I absolutely loved her relationship with Aurora. I liked that she and Dioval watched out for Aurora since the three fairies who took care of her were essentially bumbling idiots.

    Like

Leave a Reply

