My Year In Books: Feed by M.T. Anderson – Book #3

Photo Cred: goodreads
Title: Feed
Author: M.T. Anderson
Series: N/A
Publisher: Listening Library
Release Date: June 24, 2003
Medium: Audiobook
Voice Actor: David Aaron Baker
Awards: National Book Award Nominee for Young People’s Literature (2002), Los Angeles Times Book Prize (2002)
Finished Reading: January 21, 2014

This book was recommended to me by a colleague and he strongly recommended I do this as an audiobook. Being in between books at the time and worried about making my goal of 50 books in a year, I requested it from the library that very day. It was described to me as a sort of 1984 updated feel. Umm.. Heck yes. Sign me up. Anything to do with dystopia and failing utopias is near and dear to my heart.

Feed takes place in the future. And what a bleak, technology-dependent future it is. This is a time where going to the moon is a vacation, and not even a super fun one. This is a future where everyone has a computer chip in their brain and a constant feed updating them. This is a future with a shortened, simplified language (which we already do considering “txt language” like lol, omg, brb, etc) and cars that drive by themselves. This is a future that is not so far-fetched, which totally freaks me out and totally intrigues me.

We are introduced to Titus and Violet. They meet while on vacation at the moon and go to a party where a hacker turns off their feed. They then have to go to the hospital, along with some of Titus’ friends, for a rebooting. From that moment on, Violet decides to try and fight her feed. She is the ultimate rebel without a cause. She knows how to write, and uses words that are no longer relevant. Her dad, being a college professor, is working to prolong the life of words and their meanings. Being looked at as an outsider because of this, Titus and Violet are dealing with negative feedback from friends. They are just being “meg null”. With a huge influence from Orwell and Vonnegut, this book deals with just about every -ism there is.

I absolutely recommend this book as an audiobook! There are commercials throughout the story, and it has a feeling like this book was made to be performed. It’s hard to explain. You’ll be reading along and then all of a sudden, a commercial for jeans interrupts, followed by an ad for the newest hair style. There really is no other way to get the full effect than by doing this as an audiobook. Sure, you could read a physical copy, but it will definitely lose something – in my humble opinion. If you haven’t tried an audiobook yet, this is an awesome one to start with!

So, what did I rate this and why? I rated it four stars! I finished it and really enjoyed it! After reading 1984 and getting the paranoid feeling, this book scared me because the ideas and technologies aren’t far from the advances science is making now. It’s a great read – very apropos.

What did you think of this review? Interested, scared, boring? Just want to say hi? Let me know in the comments below! Like, comment, and follow. New book review to come out every Monday.

Until next time my fellow bibliophiles!

One thought on “My Year In Books: Feed by M.T. Anderson – Book #3

Leave a Reply

