My Year In Books: Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor – Book #16

Photo Cred: goodreads
Title: Dreams of Gods and Monsters
Author: Laini Taylor
Series: Daughter of Smoke and Bone (#3)
Release Date: April 8, 2014
Publisher: Hachette Audio
Medium: Audiobook
Voice Actor: Khristine Hvam
Finished Reading: April 28, 2014

Notice we went from book number five to book number 16. You didn’t miss any reviews! I jumped ahead to keep the series together.

About: “In this thrilling conclusion to the Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy, Karou is still not ready to forgive Akiva for killing the only family she’s ever known.
When a brutal angel army trespasses into the human world, Karou and Akiva must ally their enemy armies against the threat–and against larger dangers that loom on the horizon. They begin to hope that it might forge a way forward for their people. And, perhaps, for themselves–maybe even toward love.
From the streets of Rome to the caves of the Kirin and beyond, humans, chimaera, and seraphim will fight, strive, love, and die in an epic theater that transcends good and evil, right and wrong, friend and enemy.”

I got this audiobook the day it came out. I just needed to know what happened to our lovers. Also, the cover makes Karou look hella fierce. Just like with the previous books in this series, Khristine Hvam is the voice actor. I would be deeply upset if the voice actor changed for the last book. Hvam did an amazing job with this one. Once again I was not disappointed.

In this book we’re introduced to a couple new characters. At first you really have no idea how Eliza is going to tie into the rest of the story. It’s seemingly useless to have her in the book at all, but it’s all explained in due time. Her story is actually really sweet. WE FINALLY GET TO FIND OUT ABOUT RAZGUT. I’ve been waiting and waiting to know how he came to Earth, why he’s so smug, and basically why he’s around. And, yes, we get to see the non-relative of Karou that’s been taking care of her financially and being around when school needs an adult present. Our favorite characters are, once again, present while some have fallen due to the never-ending war.

My actual review: it’s a ton of waiting! The set-up for anything to happen took forever. The action parts, when they eventually happened, were awesome. BUUUUUUT you have to trudge through all these scenes that aren’t really necessary. Edit that, they’re necessary: scenes where the tempo is drawn out. There were a couple times when I looked at my radio and yelled for it to hurry up already! There’s a ton that happen in this book. I’m not really sure that introducing Eliza in the last segment was a good idea. I would have liked her to have been introduced in the second. Her story didn’t need to be developed til DoGaM, but having her thrown in at the end made it seem like Oh yea, this character is involved… forgot to tell you. Other than the tempo and throwing in a potentially important character at the end, it was pretty good. There’s so much to talk about, and it’s a little hard for me to review it without giving too much away.

My rating and why: I gave this a three stars. I finished it and I liked it. It would have gotten more stars had the plot moved on a little quicker and if new characters (not just Eliza) were developed earlier on. I think it could have been really cool to have seen them earlier and then BOOM! find out why they’re important in this book. (Sort of how Taylor developed Razgut.) After this book, I also decided I needed to take a break from YA books for awhile.

SOOOO…. What do you think? Do you like YA love with the element of magical creatures? Do you think Taylor did this story justice? Do you wish there was more? Let me know what you think in the comments below! Like. Comment. Follow. New book review to come on Monday.

Until next time my fellow bibliophiles!

3 thoughts on “My Year In Books: Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor – Book #16

  1. […] before we begin: If you’re looking for book #16, it was already written. I kept the series […]

    Like

  2. […] the library. The third being that the voice actor is the same as the Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trilogy. Hvam did an excellent job, per usual. Huge round of applause for […]

    Like

  3. […] Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

