My Year In Books: This Star Won’t Go Out by Esther Earl – Book #6

Photo Cred: goodreads
Title: This Star Won’t Go Out: The Life and Words of Esther Grace Earl
Author: Esther Grace, Lori Earl, Wayne Earl, John Green (Introduction)
Series: N/A
Release Date: January 28, 2014
Publisher: Dutton Juvenile
Medium: Hardcover
Finished Reading: February 12, 2014

About: “A collection of the journals, fiction, letters, and sketches of the late Esther Grace Earl, who passed away in 2010 at the age of 16. Photographs and essays by family and friends will help to tell Esther’s story along with an introduction by award-winning author John Green who dedicated his #1 bestselling novel The Fault in Our Stars to her.”

**Warning: Unpopular Review to follow!**

Yes, John Green knew Ester Grace Earl. Yes, he wrote the introduction to this book. No, The Fault in Our Stars is not about Earl. Green makes it very clear in the intro that his book is not about Earl. He started writing his book before he met Earl. He did dedicate TFIOS to her, though. For this reason, I wanted to read this book before reading Green’s.

As the about section says, this book is a collection of journals, writings, pictures, and posts from Earl. She died at a very young age after fighting cancer for years. In this book we take a peek into her struggle and her positive energy she exuded to her online friends and her family. There are times she felt guilty about sucking the money out of her family. There are times she told us she hated being hooked up to a machine all the time. This book is actually pretty sad. (I know, such a shocker when it’s about a girl dealing with cancer.)

This is going to sound really callous, but this book was not for me. I wanted more. Call me heartless, but I did not feel a connection with Earl. I desperately wanted to. She sounds like a really caring, fun, and quirky person. But, I just couldn’t connect. This book was not written the way that allowed for this. This book was written more as an outsider looking in. (Having a hard time wording this without offending millions of people.) Yes, it is super sad that she had to die at such a young age, and for that I was sad. I did not cry. I did not recommend this book to everyone afterward. This book just …. was. It’s there. It is what it is. I’m sure this book means more to her family and those that knew her. Since I am neither, it missed the mark for me. And, honestly, I don’t have much to say about this book (if you couldn’t tell).

My rating: Two stars. I finished the book, but with the above mentioned taken into consideration – wasn’t a fan. The artwork and journals gave me a slight look at Earl, but not enough. It was kind of blah for me.

So, am I a heartless wench? Do I have a lump of coal where my heart should be? Did you feel the same way? Let me know in the comments below. Like. Comment. Follow. New book reviews to come every Monday!

Until next time my fellow bibliophiles.

One thought on “My Year In Books: This Star Won’t Go Out by Esther Earl – Book #6

  1. […] This Star Won’t Go Out by Esther Grace Earl […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

