Going Clubbin’ Tonight: My Take On Book Clubs

Until lately I have never been part of a book club. I highly enjoy talking about something I’ve just read. I geek out over all different types of books and wait for others to read it, so we can geek out together, but it’s never been an official book club. I’ve never even gone to a book discussion, like through the library. The only book talks I’ve ever been to have been mandated by college, high school, middle school, and elementary school. Other than that, it was all me, myself, and I.

In March, my friend and I decided to grab a bunch of our reader friends and make the love for reading official. We decided to have a book club. The first book club meeting was to be at 11:00 am, some day in April, at a coffee shop (cliche), and our first book was to be The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot. Now, don’t worry, I’m not going to go into detail about this book here. This post is solely about my first experience in a book club.

This book was one I hadn’t heard of previously, but after I started reading it, I saw it everywhere. It was in stores, people were talking about it, it was in libraries. It just exploded like uncovered soup in the microwave. I got this book as an audio from the library. It was a mistake. I read it super early because I wanted to make sure I would have time to finish. It was a mistake.

The mistakes I made and why they’re mistakes: 1. Audiobook. This is a mistake because when I do audiobooks I do them in the car. This means I’m not 100% focused at all times as to what is going on. This also means that I’m not taking notes or remembering key points and/or questions I want to ask. 2. Reading too early. I read this as soon it was decided to be the book for the month. It was a mistake because I couldn’t remember a lot of details. I was good on the major points of the book, but little things were fuzzy. Since I didn’t take any notes, it wasn’t helpful.

So I stroll into the coffee shop early because I want to get some blogging done. (At the time, I was working on Kicking Ass and Taking Names.) I went up to the counter, ordered my medium iced soy vanilla latte and got to blogging. After awhile people trickled in and we got down to business. I wasn’t really sure how this meeting would go. Is it going to be like college where I need to ask really deep questions, link other books I’ve read, and go into detail about how it’s against the feminist movement? Is it going to be simply saying whether I liked or disliked the book and then we go our separate ways? It was both.

We each said whether or not we liked the book and stated why. We talked about the fluffier subjects first, but somehow managed to sneak in talks about the changing healthcare system. I was worried that I would be left out, having not taken any notes. I wasn’t. Two of the four of us took notes, but they weren’t really used. We didn’t get into details like On page 48, when she mentions her anxiety of the cat, what do you think she was really saying? (This is a completely made up example. You can quote me on that.) It was a cool vibe going on. I’m not sure if it was the latte or the company, or the fact that we’re talking about books, but I was definitely digging the book club.

After talking about the material, we moved on to talk and plan when the next one would be. We made a facebook event and invited more people to this one. The book of choice was One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia-Marquez. The next discussion would be over brunch. We also have the idea of doing a “Young at Heart” month featuring a YA book. We’re going to do a graphic novel month. The ideas kept pouring out and I kept growing in excitement.

Book Clubs are my thing.

While I won’t be able to make the newest one, (Elegance of the Hedgehog) I will definitely continue to read this book and keep accepting those book club events. I’m pumped. The reading community is a great one to be a part of!

So what about you? Are you part of a book club or are you a hermit (not necessarily a bad thing)? Do you want to be in/start a book club and are unsure on how to go about it? What has been your favorite book discussion and why? Let me know in the comments below! Like. Comment. Follow.

Until next time!

3 thoughts on “Going Clubbin’ Tonight: My Take On Book Clubs

  1. laurieanneh says:

    I’m part of a very relaxed book club with three girls I went to library school with. We each take turns picking books and meet every month or so. Typically our “meetings” consist of a 10 minute conversation about the book, and 2+ hours gossiping, eating, and drinking. I like it because it has me reading books I typically wouldn’t even pick up. Only two of us are YA addicts, so we typically pick YA books and the other two ladies pick random fiction.

    Like

    • That’s awesome! Yes, I love it because I wouldn’t pick up the books ordinarily. And I totally agree, most of it is us talking about what’s going on in our lives, eating yummies, and drinking coffee ❤

      Like

  2. […] book because it is the first book of a book club I co-started with a friend. You can read about it here. This is the first book that we decided to read. Honestly, I have no idea how this came about. I had […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

