My Year In Books: I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai – Book #8

Photo Cred: goodreads.com
Title: I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban
Author: Malala Yousafzai, Christina Lamb
Series: N/A
Release Date: August 1, 2013
Publisher: Hachette Audio
Medium: Audiobook
Voice Actor: Archie Panjabi
Awards: Goodreads Choice for Memoir & Autobiography (2013), International Children Peace Prize (2012)
Finished Reading: February 25, 2014

About: “When the Taliban took control of the Swat Valley in Pakistan, one girl spoke out. Malala Yousafzai refused to be silenced and fought for her right to an education.
On Tuesday, October 9, 2012, when she was fifteen, she almost paid the ultimate price. She was shot in the head at point-blank range while riding the bus home from school, and few expected her to survive.
Instead, Malala’s miraculous recovery has taken her on an extraordinary journey from a remote valley in northern Pakistan to the halls of the United Nations in New York. At sixteen, she has become a global symbol of peaceful protest and the youngest nominee ever for the Nobel Peace Prize.
I AM MALALA is the remarkable tale of a family uprooted by global terrorism, of the fight for girls’ education, of a father who, himself a school owner, championed and encouraged his daughter to write and attend school, and of brave parents who have a fierce love for their daughter in a society that prizes sons.
I AM MALALA will make you believe in the power of one person’s voice to inspire change in the world.”

I picked up this book after seeing a Daily Show with Jon Stewart. Yousafzai was being intereviewed on one of the episodes and I was super impressed with her tenacity at such a young age and knew I wanted to know more about this young activist.

Yousafzai’s story is absolutely amazing. The college-educated feminist, that I am, is definitely with her in her push for education for young girls. (That was a weird sentence.) I actually don’t have a lot to say about this book. Everything you need to know is in the “about” section. There’s definitely more details in the book, but they got in the way of the story. Let me re-iterate at how awe-inspiring her story is before I go on.

This book fell short for me. There was a ton of history that I just couldn’t follow. There were names of past rulers, dates, wars, and just a ton of information that was thrown out at me (not disguised in a creative way). We find out in the first few pages that Yousafzai is shot on a school bus, then we’re transported way back. It takes forever for the shooting to happen again. I mostly was waiting for her to get shot to see how she dealt with it afterward or how she pushed through to become an even greater activist. Most of the story was about history and what led up to the shooting, which is cool. Absolutely thrilling, but it wasn’t done in a way that kept my attention.

Everyone has a story to tell, but not everyone is a writer.

My rating and why: I give it three stars. I didn’t like the layout or the presentation, but I loved her story and I definitely was interested in hearing about it. I just wanted more though. I wanted more of an emotional connection rather than being thrown information about the country as a whole. This definitely could just be me.

What do you think? Am I being heartless? A girl was shot, after-all. Is this book on your list of books to read? Did I save you the time from reading it? Are you going to read it anyway and write a scathing review about how wrong I am? Let me know in the comments below. Like Comment Follow.

New book review to come out every Monday.

Until next time my fellow bibliophiles!

3 thoughts on “My Year In Books: I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai – Book #8

  1. L.S. Engler says:

    I don’t think you’re being heartless. Writerly types definitely read books like this in an entirely different way that most people, which causes us to look beyond the story and approach it more critically from a craft perspective, which a lot of these inspiring books don’t have. I haven’t read I Am Malala yet, but I have had a lot of books recommended to me that friends found so moving and incredible, but I couldn’t look past the formulaic way they were lacking in creativity and story, and I just read another review the other day for a different book, where the reviewer “felt bad,” because, while the person did great things, the book was so unimaginative and droll. It’s a curse, I think. Overall, though, it’s clear you were moved by the main story, even if you weren’t moved by the telling of it. That right there shows you aren’t heartless at all. You’re just an aesthetic.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. […] I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

