My Year In Books: State Of Fear by Michael Crichton – Book #12

Photo Cred: goodreads.com
Title: State of Fear
Author: Michael Crichton
Series: N/A
Release Date: April 28, 2009
Publisher: Harper
Medium: Paperback
Finished Reading: April 5, 2014

About: “This is Crichton’s most wide-ranging thriller. State of Fear takes the reader from the glaciers of Iceland to the volcanoes of Antarctica, from the Arizona desert to the deadly jungles of the Solomon Islands, from the streets of Paris to the beaches of Los Angeles. The novel races forward on a roller-coaster thrill ride, all the while keeping the brain in high gear. Gripping and thought-provoking, State of Fear is Michael Crichton at his very best.”

I got this book in a library book sale. I paid about fifty cents and I bought it because I know Crichton’s Timeline and that he wrote Jurassic Park. I needed it.

This one I’m not too sure about. Coming off of the high I got from Timeline I was expecting much more. There was still the element of “fact” and action, with a little romance thrown in. This one is all about global warming and whether it’s a “thing” or not. A whole bunch of science jargon and arguments. And then this one guy goes all Indiana Jones (but for environment, not archeology) and those parts were pretty exciting. It’s a long book, don’t read this if you want a quick, weekend read. I’m still on the edge.

So, I just don’t know about this book. There are some parts, facts, that are cited. Crichton definitely did his homework when it came to writing about such a hard and debatable topic. I felt like these ideas were crammed down my throat. Whether or not you “believe” in global warming, this book definitely has some strong arguments both ways. It’s just a huge book full of propaganda. I kept wanting more.

There was definitely an adventure going to each continent and getting in insane, dangerous situations. There was murder, slander, sex, espionage, the cocktail for a great story. I just wanted something more. I’m not sure what it is that would have made this book better, but it was lacking something for me. Perhaps I didn’t feel connected to the characters. Maybe I wasn’t feeling the basic story line. Could be that I was just tired of reading it. I just don’t know what I needed. Saying all of that, it wasn’t a terrible story. It was entertaining and I felt smarter reading it, whether or not I was reading facts.

My rating and why: I gave it three stars. I liked it, buuuuut like mentioned before I just wanted more and I’m unsure of what the rating really should be. For that reason, it only gets three stars.

So, are you a fan of Crichton’s work? Have you read anything by him? Are you interested in environmental books? Did you read this book? What did you think? Let me know all in the comments below. Like. Comment. Follow. New book review to come Monday.

Until next time my fellow bibliophiles!

2 thoughts on “My Year In Books: State Of Fear by Michael Crichton – Book #12

  1. […] the time of reading. I went out of town this weekend, and knew that I was going to finish reading State of Fear and I wanted something that I wouldn’t have to think about. That is exactly this book. […]

    Like

  2. […] State of Fear by Michael Crichton […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

