Run, Megan, Run!

Photo Cred: Pretty Muddy
August 16 was not an ordinary Saturday for me. It was the day that I did my first 5k. Now, if you’ve been following me for awhile, you’ll know that I don’t like to run. You can read that post here. So, why did I sign up for a run when I despise it? Why did I sign up for a run with I have a shirt that says “I HATE RUNNING”? I’ll let you know below.

Honestly, I had a hard time coming up with what to write about. I debated writing about training. I debated writing about my lack of training. I debating writing about what happened in the race. Maybe I should write about what I learned after my first run. So, if you want to hear more about this, let me know in the comments below. I’ll absolutely do another post.

Here it is: why I decided to do a 5k.

1. It’s a mud run. Having the opportunity to play in the mud without getting yelled at, is just insane. I reveled in this opportunity. It was a no brainer for me to do this one.

2. It’s not timed. There was undoubtedly no pressure for me to finish this run as fast as I could. I could have walked the whole thing if my heart so desired.

3. It’s all women. I didn’t need to worry about doing all these crazy things in the mud with worrying about Hans and Franz next to me.

4. There’s obstacles. Not only did I get to roll around in the mud, but I got to swim (literally) in mud underneath ropes, go down a water slide, climb this awesome rope monstrosity and so much more.

5. It’s only a 5k. This is a baby race compared to what my vegan-ultra-skinny-run-for-fun friend does for a warm-up. I could do this. My wheezy lungs could handle 3.1 miles… maybe

6. Friends. I signed up with one of my sisters and my vegan-ultra-skinny-run-for-fun friend. I wasn’t alone in this endeavor. This is a huge motivator during the run and prepping for the run.

7. Bucket List. It was on my bucket list to do a mud run. While I’m definitely not ready to do the Warrior Dash or the Tough Mudder, I am content with scratching this one off the list.

8. Free shirt. There are many, many things I’ll do for a free shirt and a 5k just so happens to be one of them.

9. Free beer. There are many, many things I’ll do for a free beer and a 5k just so happens to be one of them.

10. Challenge myself. I knew it would be hard, but I wanted to push myself and do something I’ve never done before. It marked the start of a healthier lifestyle. (Well… in theory it did. I still love fries.)

Boom. Ten reasons, and probably more that I’m forgetting, for doing this run. I am so glad that I did it. If you have the opportunity to do something like this – DO IT. Doesn’t matter what shape you’re in, I saw all sizes, you need to do this. It was so much fun and so fulfilling. I felt like I could conquer the world.

Until next time!

Photo Cred: Pretty Muddy Photo Cred: Pretty Muddy

4 thoughts on “Run, Megan, Run!

  1. tinajoan says:

    All marvellous reasons to get out there and get it done!! You rock, girl!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. laurieanneh says:

    Good job! I also used to hate to run. Recently I started sort of liking it. I did a 5k colour run in July and just did a 10k competitive run on Sunday. I also run so I can eat and drink everything in sight and not feel bad about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. […] a tiger, which doesn’t happen all that often. That being said, I signed up for two 5K runs. Pretty Muddy was in August, 2014. This is a 5K mud run with obstacles throughout the course. Foam Glow 5K was in […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

