My Year In Books: High Voltage Tattoo by Kat Von D – Book #15

Photo Cred: goodreads.com
Title: High Voltage Tattoo
Author: Kat Von D
Series: N/A
Release Date: January 20,2009
Publisher: Harper Design
Medium: Hardcover
Awards: An ALA/YALSA Quick Pick for Reluctant Young Adult Readers for Top Ten (2010)
Finished Reading: April 20, 2014

About: “From the charismatic star of The Learning Channel’s number-one program “L.A. Ink” comes a rich view of contemporary tattoo culture, as only a true insider can offer. Full-color throughout.”

When LA Ink was a big thing on TV I watched on and off. I wasn’t super interested because I was a stupid kid. I just saw this lady who had pretty much no inch of clean skin and a super raspy voice. Years later I started watching Ink Master. After becoming interested in the art of tattooing and overlooking the seemingly planned out drama, I went back to watching LA Ink and grew to love Von D. I, myself, do not have any tattoos at the moment. I definitely want to get one (probably more), but I’m a baby and indecisive and broke.

I picked up this book on a whim. I was at the library picking up another book on hold and saw this one just peaking around another book. What caught my attention immediately was the cover. It’s a hardcover, but it’s sort of puffy and squishy as well. It’s hard to explain. The easiest way for you to know what I mean is to just go find it and squish it.

I definitely enjoyed this book. I knew it was going to be a fast read with a ton of art. It was both. Von D gives an overview of her beginning. Everything from running away from home with a beau to meeting top rockers and staying up all night talking with fellow artists. There are sketches of Von D’s earlier works and some of her favorite tattoos she’s done thus far. We’re introduced to the other artists in her shop and her relationship with each of them. She talks about how she scouted them out and why she respects each one of them.

The best part for me was seeing all of the art. There’s a break down of Von D’s own body art, as well as a gallery of brilliantly executed designs. This book, I would classify, is an art book. Beautiful designs on every page. This book isn’t just for those who are tattoo enthusiasts. I think anyone who enjoys art or are curious about Von D would enjoy it.

My rating and why: I gave it three stars. I read it and finished it. It didn’t grab me the way I thought it would and I thought the details about Von D’s life were lacking. I wanted more information about the relationships between her and her family. I wanted more anecdotes in that department. But it was good and I was pleased.

So, are you a Von D fan? Have you seen any of her shows? Do you enjoy tattoos? Do you have any or are planning to get any? Let me know in the comments below! Like. Comment. Follow. New book review to come next Monday.

Until next time my fellow bibliophiles!

One thought on “My Year In Books: High Voltage Tattoo by Kat Von D – Book #15

  1. […] High Voltage Tattoo by Kat VonD […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

