Why I Got An eReader

Photo Cred: Silenceinthelibrarypublishing.com
If you’ve been reading my blogs for awhile, you’ll know that I used to be a hard-core reader. I don’t mean the kind that reads several books in one week. I mean the kind that only reads physical copies. That changed when I discovered audiobooks were amazing. It’s about to change again. I have always been against eReaders. I didn’t like the idea of staring at yet another screen during the day. I’m working on a computer all day and then come home and go on my blog and facebook and youtube and whatever. I didn’t want to add even more strain to my pretty blues. I like the idea of actually turning a page rather than sliding a screen or touching a button. So, why did I break down and decide to get an eReader last night? Well, dear reader, I’ll tell you. In no particular order – here it is.

1. Travel. I don’t travel a whole lot, but when I do I’m usually about to finish one book and start another. For spatial reasons, having an eReader would give me more room for other important things like clothes, my stuffed dog that’s been with me since I was seven (his name is Scoop), hair stuff, and whatever else I feel like. (I do what I want!)

2. Interview purposes. I work part time in a library. A branch of a library. In this particular branch, we don’t get a whole lot of questions dealing with our eBooks. It just doesn’t happen. The demographic we serve just doesn’t fit into this category, so when I’m asked in interviews about my knowledge, I have to tell them I have little experience. (I follow this up by saying I know about the app and am a quick learner. Jazzing it up and making me look better.)

3. Left behind. No one likes being left behind and I fall under this category. While my nieces and nephews have tablets, smartphones, eReaders, iPods, and whatever, I’m over here with my non-smart phone (I’m smart enough for the both of us), and physical book. I need to be in the know. It’s taken me this long to figure out it’s not just a fad. I’m joining.

4. Late-night bookage. Probably like most readers, if I’m close to the end of a book I blast through it. It can lead me to wee hours of the morning. Sometimes the book lust doesn’t stop there. I’ll want to keep the streak going and read another one right away. If I don’t have any other physical book, I can just grab my eReader and check something out from the library instantly. I can buy something and have it download to my lil guy. Boom. New book to read.

5. ARCs. I signed up for a first to read program thinking (foolishly) that the publication would send me physical copies of books to read and review. The other day was my first opportunity to enter to receive ARCs. Upon further reading, I discovered that they send downloads. I need an eReader for this madness. I’m not gonna sit up on my computer all night after working on a computer all day. Nope. This will also give me an opportunity to check out other publishers and the like, knowing that it’s A-OK to send downloads now.

Because of the reasons above, I didn’t feel the need to get a tablet. I have a laptop and I don’t need another, mini, version. I shopped around and decided on getting (drum roll please) the nook GlowLight™. It just seemed right for what I wanted to use it for. I haven’t used it yet, but I got him all registered and charged up. When you register the nook you get $5 credit to use and get your first book (or more) for your shiny new device.

I’m one of those people that names inanimate objects. My previous phones have been named: Little Blue, Clifford, Captain Black Phone, Scooter. I need a name for my nook. I’ve thought of Nyuk (like the Three Stooges), and Stooge (see previous reason). I’m considering authors or punctuation or books that I loved. At the same time I think it would be weird to call him Orwell, Harry Potter, or Semi-Colon. Let me know in the comments of a good name!

Thanks for reading and I’ll hit you guys up later. Have a great weekend! Enjoy a Pumpkin Spice Latte for me. Like. Comment. Follow.

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

