My Year In Books: The Giver by Lois Lowry – Book #17

Photo Cred: goodreads.com
Title: The Giver
Author: Lois Lowry
Series: The Giver Quartet #1
Release Date: February 27, 2001
Publisher: Listening Library
Medium: Audiobook
Voice Actor: Ron Rifkin
Awards: Newbery Medal (1994), Mythopoeic Fantasy Award Nominee for Children’s Literature (1994), School Library Journal Best Book of the Year, Golden Duck Award for Hal Clement Award for Young Adult (1994), Booklist Editors’ Choice (1994)
Garden State Book Award for Teen Fiction Grades 6-8 (1996), Rebecca Caudill Young Reader’s Book Award (1996), Buckeye Children’s Book Award for Grade 6-8 (1997), Grand Canyon Reader Award for Teen Book (1995), Golden Sower Award for Young Adult (1995), Sequoyah Book Award for YA (1996), Pacific Northwest Library Association Young Reader’s Choice Award for Senior (1996), Horn Book Fanfare (1994), New Mexico Land of Enchantment Award (1997), Wyoming Soaring Eagle Nominee (1996), Regina Medal (1994), William Allen White Award (1996), Wyoming Indian Paintbrush Nominee (1996)
Finished Reading: May 1, 2014

**Note before we begin: If you’re looking for book #16, it was already written. I kept the series together.

About: “December is the time of the annual Ceremony at which each twelve-year-old receives a life assignment determined by the Elders. Jonas watches his friend Fiona named Caretaker of the Old and his cheerful pal Asher labeled the Assistant Director of Recreation. But Jonas has been chosen for something special. When his selection leads him to an unnamed man-the man called only the Giver-he begins to sense the dark secrets that underlie the fragile perfection of his world.”

This is the first time I’ve ever read this book. Yes, I know that that’s a huge shocker. Most of my friends read it in school. I was not in those classes. It was just one of those books that slipped through the cracks for me. However, I saw that this book was going to be made into a movie and in theaters soon, so I just had to read it before I watched it. (As of August 15, 2014 I still have not seen the movie, but plan on it.) I told a couple of my friends I was going to start reading this and they all had the same reaction. 1. They couldn’t believe I haven’t read it yet. 2. They wish they could read it with fresh eyes. They were jealous I was reading this for the first time and excited for my experience.

Lowry does amazing world building. The way she writes it, you just sort of go along with the surroundings. Oh, no one has a car and takes bikes everywhere. Ok. Oh, everyone takes pills everyday and never experiences pain. Ok. Oh, no one has their own birthday, but they all celebrate a year change at the same time. Ok. Oh, their whole life is basically planned out for them. Ok.

I really enjoyed how we slowly find error in this way of living. We’re introduced to Jonas and rolled up in his Dystopian world. We meet him right before he is assigned his job, which he will have for the rest of his life. When he’s assigned a job that no one really knows anything about, Jonas begins his journey of discovery and enrichment. He soon finds out this life isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. With manners thrown out the window and the ability to ask anyone anything, he sees what this life truly is. It’s a super eery feeling from the beginning, but very subtle. As the story goes along I got chills when big secrets or revelations were revealed.

The character development and relationships were all well developed and I really enjoyed the details that Lowry included, no matter how small. For example, the whole thing with the comfort object. The planning and reconfiguring that went into this book was something truly amazing.

My rating and why: I gave this book five stars! It is an amazing story. It’s a super quick read, but goes into great detail. I don’t want to go too much into just how much I loved this book, but any book that gives me chills and surprises me is always going to be rated highly.

Have you read The Giver? Did you see the movie? How does the movie compare to the book and should I watch it? Have you read Lowry’s other books? Is this book on your list? Let me know in the comments below. Like. Comment. Follow. New book review to come soon.

Until next time my fellow bibliophiles!

8 thoughts on “My Year In Books: The Giver by Lois Lowry – Book #17

  1. L.S. Engler says:

    Easily one of of my favorite book. We read it in elementary school, but that was all a bit of a blur. Reading it as an adult is a whole ‘nother experience and an amazing one. It’s wonderfully well-written with a completely stunning message. I’ve read “Gathering Blue,” the next book in the loose series, and I enjoyed that one a lot, too. It was cool seeing this world in a different village and expand it further. Haven’t checked out the others yet, though, or the movie, but I’m eager to check them all out eventually.

    Like

  2. luknytelukne says:

    I liked the book and the movie separetely. They added more plot points to adapt the story to the big screen but the main message for me stayed the same – be happy that you are alive and experience and appreciate everything,even the smallest details:)

    Like

  3. […] always, this book is part of a series, the second, and I had to keep going. The world in The Giver is amazing and I super wanted to dive right in. I was super pumped to be getting another […]

    Like

  4. […] book ties together the Giver to second and, ultimately, third. It was a complaint I had for Gathering Blue. It was seemingly […]

    Like

  5. […] This is the fourth book in a quartet. If you have not read The Giver, Gathering Blue and Messenger, there will be […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

