My Year In Books: Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry – Book #19

Photo Cred: goodreads.com
Title: Gathering Blue
Author: Lois Lowry
Series: The Giver Quartet #2
Release Date: May 23, 2000
Publisher: Listening Library
Medium: Audiobook
Voice Actor: Katherine Borowitz
Awards: Massachusetts Book Award Nominee for Young Adult Literature (2001), Rebecca Caudill Young Reader’s Book Award Nominee (2003)
Finished Reading: May 13, 2014

**Disclaimer** This is the second in the series. If you have not read The Giver, there may be spoilers in this review.

About: “Kira, an orphan with a twisted leg, lives in a world where the weak are cast aside. She fears for her future until she is spared by the all-powerful Council of Guardians. Kira is a gifted weaver and is given a task that no other community member can do. While her talent keeps her alive and brings certain privileges, Kira soon realizes she is surrounded by many mysteries and secrets. No one must know of her plans to uncover the truth about her world and see what places exist beyond.”

As always, this book is part of a series, the second, and I had to keep going. The world in The Giver is amazing and I super wanted to dive right in. I was super pumped to be getting another installment since The Giver was everything I wanted and so much more.

I was sorely disappointed. I expected the book to pick up right where The Giver left off. It did not. I expected Jonas to be involved in this one. He was not. I expected the baby Jonas ran away with to be in this one. He was not. What the hell, Lowry?

What we do have is a completely different world. In this world they are highly undeveloped. They bathe in streams. The weak are taken to the forest and these unknown beasts come and take them away. There’s not really a whole lot for me to say in this review. Everything I like of saying is already written in the about section above. There were a couple surprises that gave me chills though. I felt like this book, for how small it is, was packed with details and information. Lowry is definitely talented in that aspect.

However, at the same time, I just wanted so much more. Perhaps it’s because I was coming off the high of The Giver and had such high expectations. Mayhaps if I came in years later after reading the first installment, I would have enjoyed it more. It just seemed…. off for me. I don’t really have an explanation. It just wasn’t for me.

My rating and why: I gave it three stars. I read it and finished it, but wanted so much more. Like mentioned before, I wanted it more like the previous book. There wasn’t any mention of the other world and makes me wonder why they’re in the same Quartet. What are you playing at, Lowry?

Have you read this one? What did you think? Are you not in the mood? Did you know there were others in the series? Let me know all in the comments below. Like. Comment. Follow. Messenger, the third in the series will be up on Monday.

Until next time my fellow bibliophiles!

5 thoughts on “My Year In Books: Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry – Book #19

  1. jsilly3789 says:

    I vaguely remember reading this book in middle school – at the time I think I really liked it, but the plot escapes me. What is the third book in the “Giver” series? Have you read The Maze Runner?

    Like

  2. The third one is Messenger (I’m going to have that one up on Monday). I haven’t read Maze Runner yet, but I definitely plan on it. The movie looks so a-MAZE-ing. But seriously, it looks awesome.

    Like

  3. […] series even though it just went down hill with each sentence. So, while I was unsure about Gathering Blue, I had to keep going. Also, my knight in shining armor was waiting with bated breath. He urged me […]

    Like

  4. […] This is the fourth book in a quartet. If you have not read The Giver, Gathering Blue and Messenger, there will be […]

    Like

  5. […] Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

