My Year In Books: American Vampire Vol 2 by Scott Snyder – Book #20

Photo Cred: goodreads.com
Title: American Vampire Vol 2
Author: Scott Snyder
Illustrator: Rafael Albuquerque, Mateus Santolouco
Series: American Vampire (#2)
Release Date: May 31, 2011
Publisher: Trade Paperback
Medium: Graphic Novel
Finished Reading: May 13, 2014

About: “While trafficking in a bestselling sub-genre, AMERICAN VAMPIRE introduces a new strain of vampire — a more muscular and vicious species, born of the American West.
It’s Las Vegas circa 1935, and Skinner Sweet and our gal Pearl are about to learn the hard way that the bloodsuckers in Hollywood were nothing compared to what awaits them in Sin City.
In just a few short years, young police Chief Cash McCogan has watched his native city of Las Vegas go from cow-town to wild, glittering boomtown. And when the bodies of prominent businessmen start showing up drained of blood, Chief McCogan finds himself facing a threat much darker and deadlier than anything he could have imagined . . . and the only sure bet in town is that Skinner and Pearl are right in the thick of it.”

This is the second, obviously, in the series. If you have not read the first one, please continue with caution. There may be spoilers. And as a heads up, I am writing this review five months after I read it, so my details are going to be fuzzy. This review is going to be vague for another reason as well: I don’t want to give too much away. I want you to read it and get the full experience that I did.

The second installment takes place several years from where we left off in the first one. There’s a lot that has changed that we aren’t privy to, but Snyder does an amazing job of slowly filling us in on what has happened. We’re following all of the same main characters and the juxtaposition between the storylines is perfectly done. Our characters are pretty much worlds apart in what they’re doing and where they physically are. There’s several stories being told, but they all somehow inter-weave with one another and it’s simply genius. I’m exceptionally excited about the Hattie and Pearl story that has been bubbling up through this whole installment.

The absence of Stephen King for this trade was not super noticeable. The style and narration carried on as if he was still part of the project. And, of course, I need to give a huge round of applause to the illustrators. They are definitely key players when creating a graphic novel and their illustrations perfectly match the storyline and the tone of the book. Something that, both narration and illustration, that I’m excited about is that the vampires are not sparkly nor over-sexualized. They’re scary. They’re the kind that haunt your nightmares and make you want to stay brightly lit areas (as if that would help with these vampires). Props to Snyder for making me scared of vampires again.

My rating and why: I gave this one four stars! I read it and really enjoyed it. I have a hard time giving something in a series five stars just because I want to know the ending. (Of course there are instances you can see where I gave five stars: The Giver, all of the Harry Potter books). You never know what could happen that would make me lessen my opinion of this installment. But, for now, this book is definitely high on my list of trades.

What do you think? Do you think vampires are too sissy now? Are you a fan of Scott Snyder’s work? Have you read other graphic novels that I’d like based on this one? Let me know in the comments below. Like. Comment. Follow. New book review to come Monday.

Until next time my fellow bibliophiles!

One thought on “My Year In Books: American Vampire Vol 2 by Scott Snyder – Book #20

  1. […] American Vampire Volume 2 by Scott Snyder […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

