My Year In Books: The Fault In Our Stars by John Green – Book #21

Photo Cred: goodreads.com
Title: The Fault In Our Stars
Author: John Green
Series: n/a
Release Date: January 10. 2012
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Medium: Audiobook
Voice Actor: Kate Rudd
Awards: Buxtehuder Bulle (2012), Odyssey Award for Excellence in Audiobook Production Honor (2013), West Australian Young Readers’ Book Award (WAYRBA) for Older Readers (2013), YALSA Teens’ Top Ten Nominee (2012), Indies Choice Book Award for Young Adult (2013), Deutscher Jugendliteraturpreis for Preis der Jugendjury (2013), Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award (ALAN/NCTE) (2013), Dioraphte Jongerenliteratuurprijs for vertaald boek en publieksprijs (2013), The Inky Awards for Silver Inky (2012), Abraham Lincoln Award (2014), Goodreads Choice for Best Young Adult Fiction (2012)
Finished Reading: May 21, 2014

About: “Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.”

Everyone knows this book or has heard of this book. Mostly because of the movie. And everyone says the same thing when you say that you’re going to read it: you’re going to cry. Knowing this, I still picked up the book. I just had to see what all the hype was about and if it was warranted. Nevertheless, I started it. I decided to distance myself from the characters, so I would not get attached and then super depressed when something bad happens. First few lines, I realized this wasn’t going to happen. Somewhere between talking about the “literal heart of Jesus” and “cancer perks” I was hooked. Hazel Grace and Agustus Waters. Good God. Gus makes me want to either be more pretentious or have more pretentious friends around me. Their dynamic is just awesome. They even reference Slaugherhouse-Five: “So it goes”. Heck yes.

Lets back up a bit. Hazel Grace Lancaster has cancer and has been taken out of school, so she can be more comfortable at home (she also missed a bunch of school due to doctor visits and whatnot). Her mother, who loves to celebrate the most random holidays giving each day something to be happy about, is “forcing” Hazel to go to Cancer Kid Support Group to talk about what’s going on with her physically and emotionally. She wants Hazel to make friends. She does. Hazel meets Augustus. Augustus meets Hazel and from then on it’s something truly amazing. I’m telling you guys: their story is awesome. This isn’t a book that sets out to make you cry, like a lot of tragic “cancer books”. This book is more about the characters. Dammit. Those awesome, awesome characters.

I have to admit that before I read the book, I didn’t really want to. I don’t like to cry. It’s not among my favorite hobbies, so I try to avoid it at all costs. But then something occurred to me: If Green is making so many people cry just from a book, he’s obviously doing something right as a writer. And he did.

I wasn’t super happy about them going off to find this obscure author who obviously doesn’t want to be talked to. (Slight spoiler? Not really.)

Ok. The sad part. Did I cry? I did not. I was on the verge and it might have actually happened, but I was in the car and was hit by another car. So. That kind of ruined it for me. The whole having-my-car-totaled thing seemed more important at the time than crying over this book.

My rating and why: I gave this book four stars! I read it and really enjoyed it. While there were a few issues I had: author thing was the main one that I remember, I still really enjoyed it. It’s definitely character-driven, so if you’re not digging Hazel Grace and Augustus Waters, you won’t like it. I WILL say that after reading this book I have the urge to yell out “PHALANXIFOR” whenever anything brilliant happened. I also called my super skinny vegan friend who runs for fun by her first name and middle name for a good few weeks. So, there’s that. Jury’s still out about whether or not I will go and see the movie. I’m not a big fan of the actress, and I already know what’s going to happen. I don’t need to watch a movie that’s out to get them tears.

What did you think? Did you watch the movie – do I need to break down and see it? What other John Green books have you read and you recommend? Let me know in the comments below! Like. Comment. Follow. New book review to come Monday.

Until next time my fellow bibliophiles!

4 thoughts on “My Year In Books: The Fault In Our Stars by John Green – Book #21

  1. bookishpeach says:

    I read the book and then watched the movie. I found the movie enjoyable (as enjoyable as a depressing movie can be). The movie had all the elements it needed, but the pacing felt off. I can’t quite put my finger on it, but a little bit of the magic was missing.
    And as for his other books, I own them all but I have only read Paper Towns so far. I thought it was alright, and I believe that’s the next one to be turned into a movie. I enjoyed the first half much more than I did the second half. And I found the ending to be a little disappointing.
    I heard that Looking for Alaska is his best, so I’m planning on getting to that soon.

    Like

    • Looking for Alaska has been on my to-read list since, like, the beginning of time, but it’s always been put off. I’ll have to see how you like it haha … or I could take the plunge, one of these days. I’ll probably skip the movie then. I’m good with just having read the book.

      Like

  2. Great review! I bought the book 6-7 months back, but I still haven;t read it (so much for adding books to TBR lists!) Unfortunately, I watched the movie and cried my heart out, so now I’m feeling a bit hesitant in reading it as I really don’t wanna cry again (I’m sure the book is definitely more sentimental than the movie.)
    I guess I’ll read Looking For Alaska first!

    Like

  3. […] The Fault In Our Stars by John Green […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

