My Year In Books: The Playdate by Louise Millar – Book #23

Photo Cred: goodreads
Title: The Playdate
Author: Louise Millar
Series: N/A
Release Date: April 1, 2012
Publisher: Pan Publishing
Medium: Paperback
Finished Reading:

About: “You leave your kids with a friend. Everyone does it. Until the day it goes wrong.
Single mother Callie has come to rely heavily on her best friend Suzy. But Callie suspects Suzy’s life isn’t as simple as it seems. It’s time she pulled away – going back to work is just the first step towards rediscovering her old confidence. So why does she keep putting off telling Suzy about her new job?”

I picked up this seemingly awesome thriller at a book sale for just a quarter. I can’t turn down a psychological thriller that’s only a quarter. I physically cannot do it. It called to me. So I nabbed this puppy up.

It’s not as thrilling and adventurous as the professional reviews and hype make it out to be. In fact, it’s kind of dull. The weird “thrilling” part happens much later in the book than it should and I just wasn’t thrilled. No goosebumps. It was more like: what is going on – rather than WHAT IS GOING ON?!?!

This book follows three woman whom all live on the same street. They’re seemingly normal. Two of the women are friends and hang out most of the time, having no jobs to worry about. One of the women decide to go back to work and things sort of fall apart at the seems. Everything from the relationship with the father, her relationship with her daughter, and the relationship between her friends. The third woman is a recent resident. We find out pretty much right away something isn’t quite right with her, but we don’t know what.

I originally had this mash-up described as Desperate Housewives meets Gone Girl, but I think I’m going to have to amend this. Desperate Housewives meets… something less thrilling and less interesting.

While I finished the book, I’m not exactly sure why. Maybe because I already invested a ton of time in this book and didn’t want to DNF it, worrying about my 50 book goal. Maybe I thought the awesomeness was just a page-turn away. Maybe I just wanted to torture myself. I’m not really sure, but I definitely finished it.

My rating and why: I gave this book three stars. While I definitely ranted about it above, the biggest thing that was wrong for me was the marketing. I felt it was marketed all wrong. Had it been correctly described, I wouldn’t have picked up this book. It’s just not for me, but I can see the appeal for other readers. It just missed the mark for me.

Have you read anything by Louise Millar? Have you read any book that really disappointed you because of the book description wasn’t at all what the book was about? Let me know in the comments below! Like. Comment. Follow. New book review to come Monday!

Until next time my fellow bibliophiles!

One thought on “My Year In Books: The Playdate by Louise Millar – Book #23

  1. […] The Playdate by Louise Millar […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

