My Year In Books: Saga, Volume 2 by Brian K. Vaughan – Book #54

Photo Cred: goodreads.com
Title: Saga
Author: Brian K. Vaughn
Illustrator: Fiona Staples
Series: Saga (#2)
Release Date: July 2, 2013
Publisher: Image Comics
Medium: Trade Paperback
Awards: Harvey Awards for Best Continuing or Limited Series, Best Writer (for Brian K. Vaughan), Best Artist (for Fiona Staples) & Best Cover Artist (for Fiona Staples) (2014), Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards for Best Continuing Series, Best Writer (for Brian K. Vaughan) & Best Painter/Multimedia Artist (interior art) (for Fiona Staples) (2014)
Finished Reading: November 15, 2014

About: “From award-winning writer Brian K. Vaughan (Pride of Baghdad, Ex Machina) and critically acclaimed artist Fiona Staples (Mystery Society, Done to Death), Saga is the sweeping tale of one young family fighting to find their place in the universe. Thanks to her star-crossed parents Marko and Alana, newborn baby Hazel has already survived lethal assassins, rampaging armies, and horrific monsters, but in the cold vastness of outer space, the little girl encounters her strangest adventure yet…grandparents.”

**This is the second book in the series. There may be spoilers. Please go back to the review of the first one if you haven’t read it.

I had this TPB (Trade Paperback) sitting next to my bed for forever. (literally) After reading Lucky Jim I needed something to clear my ugly fog before going to bed. It was super late, and I thought I would just read a chapter or two. I read the whole thing. This should definitely give you insight to the rest of my review.

It was glorious. I just couldn’t put it down! We meet new characters. We learn more about the old ones. I just am in love. I can’t get over the beautiful, and sometimes beautifully grotesque, the art is. Huge round of applause for Staples.

I don’t want to say too much and give anything away. This is definitely something you can read in less than two hours, and it will leave you wanting more. I fell in love with Lana and Marko all over again and I can’t wait to read the next installment.

Short review alert!

My rating and why: I gave this book 4 stars! I read it and loved it and wanted more and more and more. There really isn’t anything else that needs to be said. This book is amazing.

Have you read this volume? Have you read anything by Vaughan or featured Staples? Are you a fan of graphic novels and TPB? Let me know in the comments below! Like. Comment. Follow.

Until next time my fellow bibliophiles!

One thought on “My Year In Books: Saga, Volume 2 by Brian K. Vaughan – Book #54

  1. […] Saga Volume 2 by Brian K. Vaughan […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

