My Year In Books: The Terrible and Wonderful Reasons Why I Run Long Distance by Matthew Inman – Book #57

Photo Cred: goodreads.com
Title: The Terrible and Wonderful Reasons Why I Run Long Distance
Author: Matthew Inman
Series: n/a
Release Date: September 30, 2014
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
Medium: Graphic Novel
Awards: Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards for Best Digital Comic (2014)
Finished Reading: November 24, 2014

About: “This is not just a book about running. It’s a book about cupcakes. It’s a book about suffering.
It’s a book about gluttony, vanity, bliss, electrical storms, ranch dressing, and Godzilla. It’s a book about all the terrible and wonderful reasons we wake up each day and propel our bodies through rain, shine, heaven, and hell.
From #1 New York Times best-selling author, Matthew Inman, AKA The Oatmeal, comes this hilarious, beautiful, poignant collection of comics and stories about running, eating, and one cartoonist’s reasons for jogging across mountains until his toenails fall off.”

I’ve read the Oatmeal on and off for awhile now. Enough to know that Inman is hilarious. I’ve already read his online version of The Terrible and Wonderful Reasons Why I Run Long Distance, so when I saw that he was publishing it into a book with even more comics I needed it. My roommate, the ultra-skinny-vegan-friend-who-runs-for-fun, checked it out from the library and handed it to me, with a boys choir singing in the background and the clouds parting to shed light on this book. Or something like that. I grabbed it… and read it all in one sitting.

This book had me laughing out loud several times. This is where I apologize to my ultra-skinny-vegan-friend-who-runs-for-fun. I’m sure I kept her up that night, having started the book after 11pm. Sorry, girl. I just couldn’t contain myself. I’m not going to even attempt to describe any of the comic because it will just ruin it. Read it.

It’s funny for runners and non-runners alike. You can read the whole book in less than two hours. If you’re looking for a laugh, I know where you should turn.

My rating and why: I gave this book four stars! I read it and super enjoyed it. While this is a comic, and definitely comedic, there are these awesome moments where Inman slaps you with some insanely insightful tidbit. I just love it. It definitely solidified why I want to be a runner, for sure.

Your turn! Have you read this book or anything on the Oatmeal? What’s you favorite comic? Do you read graphic novels/What’s your favorite? Let me know in the comments below! Like. Comment. Follow. New book review to come tomorrow.

Until next time my fellow bibliophiles!

One thought on “My Year In Books: The Terrible and Wonderful Reasons Why I Run Long Distance by Matthew Inman – Book #57

  1. […] The Terrible and Wonderful Reasons Why I Run Long Distances by Matt Inman […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

