My Year In Books: Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk by David Sedaris – Book #63

Photo Cred: goodreads.com
Title: Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk: A Modest Bestiary
Author: David Sedaris
Series: n/a
Release Date: September 28, 2010
Publisher: Little, Brown & Company
Medium: Playaway
Voice Actor: Dylan Baker, Elaine Stritch, Sian Phillips
Finished Reading: December 24, 2014

About: “Featuring David Sedaris’s unique blend of hilarity and heart, this new collection of keen-eyed animal-themed tales is an utter delight. Though the characters may not be human, the situations in these stories bear an uncanny resemblance to the insanity of everyday life.
In ‘The Toad, the Turtle, and the Duck,’ three strangers commiserate about animal bureaucracy while waiting in a complaint line. In ‘Hello Kitty,’ a cynical feline struggles to sit through his prison-mandated AA meetings. In ‘The Squirrel and the Chipmunk,’ a pair of star-crossed lovers is separated by prejudiced family members.
With original illustrations by Ian Falconer, author of the bestselling Olivia series of children’s books, these stories are David Sedaris at his most observant, poignant, and surprising.”

I got this book as a Playaway at the same time as getting You’re a Badass. Apparently I thought I had a ton of extra time – got dat young book lust. Initially, my idea for getting Playaways was so that I can use my time at work to read more books, but I think this might be a book that I should have read because I just didn’t get it.

I get that this is Sedaris’ thing – writing non-fiction through the guise of animals a la Art Spiegelman. I’m not sure if it was because I was at work and not 100% focused on every single word, but I’m pretty positive this book wasn’t for me. Maybe I’m just not artsy enough to “get” the intricacies Sedaris uses.

I don’t have a problem with talking animals, hello Animal Farm. In fact, I like satire or non-fiction handed to me with animals as the main characters. But this one just completely missed the mark for me. I loved the concept, but not so much the outcome. Sorry, Sedaris.

Unfortunately I don’t really have a lot to say about this. It was  a really short read being only three hours long (I don’t know how many pages that equates to), so I tried to have a go at it a second time, but wasn’t feeling it and gave up. Maybe it would have been better if I’d read the book and saw the illustrations. I could go back and pick up a physical copy to find out, but I probably won’t.

My rating and why: I gave this book 2.5/3 stars. I could see why people like this book and why people think Sedaris is hilarious, but this just wasn’t for me. I couldn’t force it and I couldn’t like it. I usually comment on the voice acting early on, but for some reason didn’t this time. It was ok – fitting for this book. The actors finagled their voices to fit different characters and it worked out for them.

Your turn! Have you read this book? Do you like any other Sedaris book? What’s your favorite book/movie with talking animals? Let me know in the comments below! Like. Comment. Follow. New book review to come tomorrow. (AND it’s the last book review for 2014!)

Until next time my fellow bibliophiles!

3 thoughts on “My Year In Books: Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk by David Sedaris – Book #63

  1. […] Squirrel Seeks Chimpunk by David Sedaris […]

    Like

  2. […] when I thought I had PLENTY of time to do nothing else, but read. I snagged a couple magazines and Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk and some other things that I just didn’t have time for. Not to say I didn’t have time […]

    Like

  3. […] second Playaway was a little rough. Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk was a book that I just didn’t “get”. I wasn’t sure, and still am not sure, […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

