2015 Reading Challenge: The Martian by Andy Weir

Photo Cred: Booklikes.com (goodreads.com was down at the time)
Title: The Martian
Author: Andy Weir
Series: n/a
Release Date: October 28, 2014
Publisher: Broadway Books
Medium: Paperback
Finished Reading: January 15, 2015
Fulfills: A Book A Friend Recommended, A Book By An Author I’ve Never Read

About: “Six days ago astronaut Mark Watney became one of the first people to walk on Mars. Now he’s sure hell be the first person to die there. After a dust storm forces his crew to evacuate the planet while thinking him dead, Mark finds himself stranded on Mars’s surface, with no way to signal Earth that he’s alive. And even if he could get word out, his supplies would be gone years before a rescue could arrive. Chances are, though, Mark won’t have time to starve to death. The damaged machinery, unforgiving environment, or plain old “human error” are much more likely to kill him first. Armed with nothing but his ingenuity, his engineering skills – and a gallows sense of humor that proves to be his greatest source of strength – Mark embarks on a dogged quest to stay alive. But will his resourcefulness be enough to overcome the impossible odds against him?”

I have seen this cover around the block a time or two. Then it happened. Someone at work owns a copy and is lending it out to anyone who showed in interested. I flaunted my interest and was soon granted access.

This book. I don’t even know where to begin. (I just wrote and re-wrote the following sentence at least 5 times.) I guess we’ll start with Mark Watney as a character. He’s amazing. He’s a genius and constantly finding new, alternative ways to do something. He needs to survive on Mars for a ridiculous amount of time until the next ship comes. Food. Water. Air. All necessities that we take for granted that Watney needs to figure out how to make happen and stretch out as long as possible. He’s crass, immature, sarcastic humor had me reeling in my chair (what does that even mean?); I laughed out loud, literally; I enjoyed his sense of humor and wit.

There’s so much I could say – the “science” in this book is all plausible. Right? I’m reading this with the idea that Weir doesn’t really know what he’s talking about, but since he’s saying it with authority that it must be ok. Oh, no hunny. It’s alllll plausible and that, my sweet, is amazing.

This book had me hooked from the first sentence. “I’m fucked.” Yup. Two simple words, and from that point on I just couldn’t put the book down. I was right there rooting for Watney to survive and make it back home, but the insane amount of environmental troubles and human errors are stacked against his survival.

There were several parts where I’m sure I didn’t breathe. (I probably did, but come on now. I’m being dramatic and trying to get you excited about this book.)

My rating and why: I gave this book five stars! If you’ve been following my reviews, you know I don’t had these out willy nilly. I absolutely loved this book and have already recommended it to several friends and coworkers. Anytime someone brings up anything to do with space, sci-fi, planets, reading, (or anything really) I bring up this book. I can’t stop talking about it.

Your turn! Have you read this book? What’s a sci-fi book you’ve read that you just couldn’t put down? What planet would you like to visit, if you could visit any? Let me know in the comments below. Like. Comment. Follow. Until next time my fellow bibliophile beasties!

Leave a Reply

