Dance Like Nobody’s Watching

If you’re anything like me, you’ve become obsessed with the Sia music videos. Elastic Heart and Chandelier are absolutely powerful, amazing, and full of grace. I have absolutely so many words to describe the dancing and I’m very proud to have grown up in the dance world.

However, I’ve read an article by the Huffington Post about this mighty dancer, Maddie Ziegler, and I was less than impressed.

Ziegler is ridiculous as a dancer. There’s no question about that. When HuffPo decides to comment on dance as a society and what it’s been doing for the last decades, they need to take a giant step back and shut up about what they don’t know. I actually have a lot to say about this article, but I’ll focus on one comment made.

Replacing these are the millennials, an especially lazy and self-indulgent lot when it comes to performance. They lust to be stars without putting in the work to deserve the title.

This was said after establishing all the accomplishments by iconic dancers in previous decades (ie. Martha Graham, Julie Kent, etc, etc). To this I respond with videos and images. Sorry, HuffPo. You need to shove it.


Maybe you’ve seen this amazing Russian ballet dancer dance to Take Me to Church. It makes me almost cry every time I see it. Perfect lines. Grace. Power. Control, yet still having abandonment. I’ve been trying to find words for this choreography and performance for awhile now and still come up short. There’s just no words that can describe what’s going on on the inside right now.


There are shows that include dancing and have become more and more popular over the years. Allowing amateur dancers the chance at making it big. Regardless of training, their passion is unmatched by anyone.


This movie has struck a chord, with subsequent Step Up movies that followed.

Perhaps, HuffPo is thinking more along the lines of performance rather than mainstream entertainment.


Takes my breath away every time I watch this. The Giordano Dance Chicago company is truly something amazing.


This. Thank you to Hubbard Street Dance for perpetuating the beauty and power of dance.

HuffPo. I’m glad you’re talking more about the dance world, but before you speak make sure you know what you’re talking about. As a millennial who was injured and can no longer pursue her dance career, I’m offended that you call a whole generation lazy. High schools, colleges, park districts, gyms, companies, studios are all teeming with millennial and others eager to grasp their goals as a dancer. The dancer’s life is very short-lived.

To all those who are dancers that are reading this: Keep on keepin’ on. For those who don’t train, but love to move: dance like no one’s watching; your pure joy and passion are enough.

All right readers. While I get off my podium, I want to know your thoughts. What’s your take on the HuffPo article? What do you think of the stereotypes of the millennial generation? Am I just completely wrong and in a minority? Let me know in the comments below! Like. Comment. Follow.

Until next time my fellow beasties!

Leave a Reply

