2015 Reading Challenge: The 7 Secrets of Awakening the Highly Effective Four-Hour Giant, Today by The Gang

Photo Cred: goodreads.com
Title: The 7 Secrets of Awakening the Highly Effective Four-Hour Giant, Today
Author: The Gang
Series: n/a
Release Date: January 6, 2015
Publisher: Dey Street Books
Medium: Paperback
Fulfills: A book with a number in the title, A funny book, A book based on or turned into a TV show
Finished Reading: February 19, 2015

About: “The Gang may have finally found their golden ticket. Left alone to close down Paddy’s Pub one night, Charlie Kelly inadvertently scored himself, and his friends, the opportunity of a lifetime—a book deal with a real publishing company, real advance money, and a real(ly confused) editor. While his actual ability to read and write remains unclear, Charlie sealed the deal with some off-the-cuff commentary on bird law and the nuances of killing rats (and maybe with the help of some glue fumes in the basement with an unstable editor on a bender). While The Gang is stunned by the news, and the legally binding, irrevocable contract left on the bar, they are also ready to rise to the task and become millionaires—and of course, help Charlie actually write the book.
In their own inimitable voices, Charlie, Mac, Dennis, Sweet Dee, and Frank weigh in on important topics like Relationships, Financial Success and Career, Fashion and Personal Grooming, Health and Diet, and Survival Skills, providing insane advice, tips, tricks, and recipes (Rum Ham anyone?) as only they can.”

If you don’t watch the show, you’re going to be insanely lost.

If you don’t love the show, you’re not going to love this book.

All that being said, I love these horrible, horrible people. Starting out, I hated this show. I started watching in like season 4 or so, and just couldn’t get into it. Everyone was yelling over each other and my brain (and ears) couldn’t take the stupid or the noise. BUT! I was told to start watching at the beginning. Season one, episode one. It’s a slow build-up of just how horrible and crazy they are. So they’re pretty muted at the beginning and you grow and get accustomed to their antics. (It’s a great show if you haven’t seen it, and I recommend starting at the beginning (as I did).)

That out of the way – this book was amazing. It was everything that I wanted in a book written by the gang and so much more. Everything from the first all-black page with the white writing that says “The Gang Writes a Self-Help Book” to the interjections of the editor.

Each character writes their own chapters in the five-part book, and it’s so blatantly obvious who is whom. Their voice is ever-present. I was pretty much reading in my head with their voices. Charlie’s pictorial chapters just cracked me up.

I was laughing out loud too many times to count, but I’m sure I annoyed everyone around me. (Sorry to my knight in shining armor and my super-skinny-runs-for-fun-vegan-roommate.)

There’s so much I want to talk about. Little gems hidden throughout this whole book, but I want you to find them! Everything from the S.I.N.N.E.D. system to possibly finding things that happen in future episodes.

My rating and why: I gave this book four stars! I read it and I just loved it. Every thing about it was awesome and true to the show.

Your turn! What show do you watch where the characters should write a book? Have you read this book? Is it on your “to-read” list? Let me know in the comments below! Like. Comment. Follow.

Until next time my fellow bibliophiles!

3 thoughts on “2015 Reading Challenge: The 7 Secrets of Awakening the Highly Effective Four-Hour Giant, Today by The Gang

  1. kaylamariaxo says:

    i Just wanted to let you know i have nominated you for The Liebster Award ♥ keep up the Great work , the link is on my Page xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

