2015 Reading Challenge: The False Prince by Jennifer A. Nielsen

Photo Cred: goodreads.com
Title: The False Prince
Author: Jennifer A. Nielsen
Series: The Ascendance Trilogy (#1)
Release Date: April 1, 2012
Publisher: Scholastic Audio Books
Medium: Audiobook
Voice Actor: Charlie McWade
Awards: Rebecca Caudill Young Reader’s Book Award Nominee (2015), YALSA Teens’ Top Ten (2013), Goodreads Choice Nominee for Best Middle Grade & Children’s (2012)
Fulfills: A book by a female author, A book a friend recommended, A trilogy, A book set in a different country
Finished Reading: February 23, 2015

About: “In a discontent kingdom, civil war is brewing. To unify the divided people, Conner, a nobleman of the court, devises a cunning plan to find an impersonator of the king’s long-lost son and install him as a puppet prince. Three orphans are recruited to compete for the role, including a defiant boy named Sage. Sage knows that Conner’s motives are more than questionable, yet his life balances on a sword’s point—he must be chosen to play the prince or he will certainly be killed. But Sage’s rivals have their own agendas as well.”

I got this book because I was talking about the reading challenge I’m doing and wanted to know of any good trilogies that I could do on audio (I’m already reading a physical copy book at home and wanted something for my car. Beep Beep!). This trilogy was recommended. I thought it would be awesome! A kingdom in ruin and deceit left and right. I was intrigued and ready for action.

I was disappointed. I understand that this book isn’t for my age group, but this book was so terribly written. I was bored. Sage was one-dimensional, though Nielsen did try. I didn’t believe in any of the characters.

Things conveniently happened. Where did you get that crown? Oh, stole it several chapters ago. How handy, right? No. It’s obnoxious. It’s not coy. I get that some authors try to keep us in the dark and have things revealed as the story progresses, but this was poorly done.

The climax wasn’t very climaxy. No faster breathing. No relief afterward. I was less than impressed.

I’m unsure as to whether or not someone reading this in the correct age group would be entertained. I don’t think I would be.

Short review for a short book.

The only reprieve this book had was with the voice actor. Thank you to McWade. He played the cocky, annoying Sage very well. The voice was exactly the voice I would imagine for this character. Fitting in every way.

I’ll take better notes for books, so my reviews are flashes of what I think I remember.

My rating and why: I gave this book three stars. I read it and it just wasn’t for me. I wasn’t a huge fan, but it was ….. ok.

Your turn! Have you read this book? Any good trilogies you’re into lately? Let me know in the comments below! Like. Comment. Follow.

Until next time my fellow bibliophile beasties!

Leave a Reply

