Hal Higdon Hurrah!

Photo Cred: pinterest.com
I’m not a big runner.

I never have been. In gym class I walked the mile run.

In the past year I’ve done three 5ks and registered for a 5-mile race for this May (Cinco de Miler). I’ve started living with the super-skinn-vegan-runs-for-fun-roommate, and I’ve been going to the gym on a regular basis (back to like when I was in college).

I’ve been leaning more and more toward being a strong, healthier person. Getting good habits early on, so it won’t be horrible later in life.

I’ve got five words for you: Hal Higdon’s Half-Marathon Training Guide. No, I haven’t signed up for a half marathon. So why am I doing this? I’ve always been one to push myself and seek the next step. I don’t settle for where I am, and am constantly looking for how I can improve and where I want to go from here.

Now, I’ve only done day one (today is day two). But I’m feeling pretty great about this. Yes, you’re supposed to work out 6/7 days of the week, but you can also move days around to fit your schedule. You’ll make time for things that truly matter to you, even if that something is simple as watching TV. I’ll be doing updates on how this is going. It’s a 16-week program, and I know it’s going to be hard. If you’re doing in the midst of training, don’t be shy. Drop a line and let me know what’s going on with you!

Day one is stretch and strengthen. I took a BodyPump class and let me tell you: it was hard. I don’t have a whole lot of experience with lifting weights or using any sort of upper body strength, so it was definitely a struggle. However, the instructor was active and yelling (happy yelps, not drill sergeant hollers), and overall made it not as horrible as it could have been. The music was constantly changing and the routines were easy to pick up. I talked to the instructor a bit before the class and she told me not to judge how much weight I use based on others around me, but she would say about how much weight I would need before each song.

So far, at 7:30am on day two, I’m feeling pretty great. I didn’t over do it with the amount of weight I used. I’ve definitely done that before – let’s be honest: we’ve all done that before. And right now I feel pretty great, and after the class I felt like I could take on the world!

Let me know what your schedule is today or yesterday and the best way for you to cool off after a work out! What do you eat post-workout? Tell me what you’re training for, if anything specific or if you’re just training for life! Like. Comment. Follow.

Until next time my fellow beasties!

P.S. As of today, I’ve been on WordPress for two years! Happy blogg-versary!

2 thoughts on “Hal Higdon Hurrah!

  1. Brittany says:

    Hal Higdon plans are HANDS DOWN the best! I love his stuff!! I think you should complete the plan, and then run a half!!

    P.S. In reply to your comment on my recent post, I don’t do Twitter either…so..you’re not alone.

    Like

    • Megasaurus says:

      Huzzah for being Twitter-less! I recently checked out one of Higdon’s books from the library, and this dude really knows what’s up! It’s only day four and he’s kicking muh butt! I love it haha

      Like

Leave a Reply

